newbie question

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: newbie question

Post by hummingbird » Tue Feb 01, 2005 7:45 pm

Hi there, thanks for all the advice! As I stated at the beginning of this thread, I am a total newbie with all of this. By no means am I an engineer or a producer.I have a computer, and Band in a Box. At this point, all I want to be able to do is:-import BinaBox into some form of software and record vocals over the top;-maybe build tracks in the software for instrumental cuts;-and record midi keyboard, or guitar, and vocal tracks.thereby creating my own home demos. I have a mike I use for gigs, I think that, from what I have read, I need a mike preamp and also an USB interface to get the audio into the computer. I think that's why the Spike package sounded good - cause it seems to have everything I need... but it is pricey.Rick, does the USB hardware/software bundle - io|2 include mic preamp? Or is that the MultiMix 8USB? If the MultiMix 8USB has Cubase, mic preamp & USB interface, it sounds like a deal. I'll check out the specs.Once again, thanks very very much!!Hummin'bird P.S. - You guys all talk about plug-ins, I'm not sure what they are. Duh.
"As we are creative beings, our lives become our works of art." (Julia Cameron)

Shy Singer-Songwriter Blog

Vikki Flawith Music Website

matto
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by matto » Wed Feb 02, 2005 8:33 am