Mastering feedback

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

electricblues817

Mastering feedback

Post by electricblues817 » Fri Dec 12, 2008 5:50 pm

Hey, my band recently released an independent album, which I produced and mixed myself. Unfortunately, I'm not a trained engineer, so I'm slightly uneasy about the sound quality.Our site is www.myspace.com/ferizblueI would love some advice especially with regard to EQ'ing the master. For our album we couldnt afford to pay for mastering, so I did it myself just by running EQ's and compressors, etc. on the stereo output bus. Now when I listen back I feel like some of it is too dull, and the compression settings aren't great either. So I'd love to hear from anyone with some good ears, so we don't make the same mistakes again. Thanks alot - Brian

cameron
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Mastering feedback

Post by cameron » Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:15 pm

I haven't listened to your album yet, but this might be a good alternative. You can download a fully functional free trial. I think it periodically adds drop-outs to the processed audio until you buy it.http://www.izotope.com/products/audio/ozone/Cam

electricblues817

Post by electricblues817 » Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:20 pm

Hey thanks alot. Pretty expensive, but it looks like it could be a huge help. Do you have any personal experience with it?

ideascapes
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Post by ideascapes » Fri Dec 12, 2008 6:41 pm