First stab at some 70s rockage

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

daveleopard
Active
Active

First stab at some 70s rockage

Post by daveleopard » Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:30 pm

This is my first attempt at writting something with a 70s feel to it. Let me know what you think....http://www.taximusic.com/song.php?song_ ... 3&stream=1

sgs4u
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: First stab at some 70s rockage

Post by sgs4u » Wed Dec 05, 2007 2:54 pm

What occurred to me was to wonder what style, or genre the listing is looking for. Is "On the Flip Side," in the style of '70s stuff they're looking for? Can you post the listing? I got a forward a while back for a funk thing I did, when I submitted to a '70s listing. Understanding what the listing is looking for, has not always been one my stronger points. Without that understanding, we are doomed. Unfortunately, your drum programming and sounds aren't as live sounding as I remember the '70s being. Can you deepen and deaden the snare, and put some gaff tape on the toms? Get the whole kit further back in the mix, maybe add lots of room sound (Bonham comes to mind). More lo-fi cymbals too..., less crispy 10k. You could look for some monster drum fills as well.What do you think? Of course, there I am holding an '80s instrument in my avatar. Does that make my opinion seem more, or less credible... Quote:This is my first attempt at writting something with a 70s feel to it. Let me know what you think....http://www.taximusic.com/song.php?song_ ... 3&stream=1

daveleopard
Active
Active

Post by daveleopard » Wed Dec 05, 2007 3:24 pm