X-Mas Song Return, second opinions?

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

matto
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: X-Mas Song Return, second opinions?

Post by matto » Thu Oct 25, 2007 9:17 am

Dan I will, just have to do a bit of work myself first...hehee Hopefully this evening...Take care, you have a great attitude.

mazz
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by mazz » Thu Oct 25, 2007 11:19 am

As usual Matt gives the bigger picture while I, for one, focus on the technical, to a fault! I agree with Matt as far as making your stuff quality instead of quantity. It can take a lot of time to make something sound as close as possible to a "real" orchestra, I've been doing it steadily for a couple of years now and still don't think I'm consistently making it happen.I think you have orchestral music in your ears but I would recommend listening to some more classical music, particularly Wagner and Stravinsky and Orff (The Planets) as they seem to be good templates for a lot of modern film music (a lot of John Williams' stuff sounds heavily influenced by The Planets to me). Of course Zimmer and Elfman and John Powell for mixing the electronic elements in a more modern context.To address your question about using the "humanize" function. I do use it (I use Digital Performer) in conjunction with manual editing, sometimes on a note by note basis. Sometimes I'll play a run and then edit it after that as well. It's not unusual to spend hours getting lines to flow by putting in controller curves, editing velocities and note lengths. There are legato scripts that make things faster and easier as well if you use Kontakt 2. That's a big subject but there's no substitute for knowing your gear inside and out and hearing what you want the final product to sound like before you pick up the mouse.As Matt said, you have a good attitude, just slow down and dig in, you'll get faster eventually.Mazz
Evocative Music For Media