CD must have a 12-digit UPC barcode

Feedback on Taxi's current listings.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

bobmaloney

CD must have a 12-digit UPC barcode

Post by bobmaloney » Mon Nov 19, 2007 4:50 am

CD must have a 12-digit UPC barcodeNot sure what this means. Does this apply to online submissions ? Any clarification would be helpful, as I wish to submit to some of these listings. Thanks Bob

gitarrero
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: CD must have a 12-digit UPC barcode

Post by gitarrero » Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:16 am

I'm no expert in this field, but I think it's the barcode that identifies the interpret/label etc (unique code). so, if you don't have a cd with such a code on it, you don't hit the criteria for this listing I think.hope that helps,martin
production, composition & stringed instruments

dcandco
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Post by dcandco » Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:36 am

Yea, the bar code is the little white sticker or printed label that all products have now days, that they scan at check out counters. Not only to register sales but to keep inventory, and accounting. Most, CD distributors or sellers won't touch a cd with out one. You can purchase one for as little as $20. From some CD manufactures, (Oasis) or from CD Baby when placing your cd for sale with them. And you also can get them in sticker form, and place them on your CD. You'd have to research how to go about that though.Good luck!Dave
www.dcandco.net ....It's live Music For Live People!!!!

ddusty
Impressive
Impressive

Post by ddusty » Mon Nov 19, 2007 6:49 am

Bob,if you can print the whole listing that may help.I believe this is only for pitches that are looking for an artist with a completed CD (possibly a distribution company or small label)They can not distribute the CD if they were not pressed with the barcode on the labels. None of the major retailers will sell a CD without it. (nothing to scan)Rob

stick
Committed Musician
Committed Musician