jazz standards

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

suzdoyle
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: jazz standards

Post by suzdoyle » Mon Aug 18, 2008 5:07 pm

Hey Mazz & Steve --Awesome songs! Wonderful vocals and arrangements.I love that Fly Me to the moon had it's verse included.Scrumptious!Suz

jodyg

Post by jodyg » Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:13 am

Wonderful sound, heart felt and a truly talented team.PeaceJG

slotter
Impressive
Impressive

Post by slotter » Fri Nov 28, 2008 11:47 am

Mazz.. a little late as this all happened in May! but I'm a forum newbie.Anyway.... great sounding recordings.. don't understand why they didn't get forwarded.. I've heard (and played with) much much worse! I dont understand peoples ears sometimes! Not too keen on the groove version of They Can't Take... but I've never been a fan of funking up standards. Great sax playing on it though.Better luck next time. oohh ps.. i was in SF in september. I wonder if you know any of the jazz cats I hung and played with. I met up with Pete Fallico, he just released a record of mine. Played with Will Blades and hung with a great guitar player call Jack Tone Riordan. You know these guys? I had a great time.. nice vibe out there.

mazz
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by mazz » Fri Nov 28, 2008 12:55 pm

Hey David,I don't get out much, mostly stay in my studio these days. I've heard of Will Blades but haven't heard of any of the other cats. Lots of great players here in SF but I'm not putting myself out there as a player so I don't run in any player circles or even go out to hear live music much at all. (live sound is for some reason usually not great and is distracting to me, I'm a dyed in the wool studio cat at this point).I'm glad you have a great time here. If you come to town again, let me know, your stuff is really good and I'd come to hear you.Cheers!!Mazz
Evocative Music For Media

imagine if John Williams and Trent Reznor met at Bernard Hermann's for lunch and Brian Eno was the head chef!