What is publishing rights (master/sync)?

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

milianpa

What is publishing rights (master/sync)?

Post by milianpa » Thu Jun 12, 2008 7:26 am

I'm new in this business so I need some helps:What is this mean? "You must own all publishing rights (master/sync) to your song in full" If I'm a song writer, what do I need to do to own that rights? Taxi's FAQ explains that If I'm the song writer, I don't need to do anything. So how's things done in this scenario?

mazz
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: What is publishing rights (master/sync)?

Post by mazz » Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:12 am

If you are the only writer, then you already own the rights. Most companies that put this kind of language in want to be able to pitch the material with "no strings attached". In other words, they want to know that no one will come along later and, for instance, stake a 50% claim to the song after the contract has been signed and the song has been placed and is making money.If you have co-writers, this kind of thing needs to be worked out amongst yourselves before you submit the music to any listings.There's plenty of material published on this kind of thing out there. I strongly suggest picking up some books and hitting the woodshed on your business chops.As I mention continuously: act as if you're going to get the deal. That probably means learning the language and terminology of the business before you have a contract in your hand. It's truly not rocket surgery to learn the basics. The material is readily available and the basics really don't change that much or that often.Also, part of this is to cultivate a relationship with an attorney that specializes in entertainment law.Be prepared!Mazz
Evocative Music For Media

imagine if John Williams and Trent Reznor met at Bernard Hermann's for lunch and Brian Eno was the head chef!
http://www.johnmazzei.com
http://www.taxi.com/johnmazzei

it's not the gear, it's the ear!

suzdoyle
Serious Musician
Serious Musician