dispatch, production libraries, music supervisors

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

stupidgenius

dispatch, production libraries, music supervisors

Post by stupidgenius » Tue Feb 17, 2004 8:32 am

Hello - I'm new to the game here. Just wanted anyone'sfeedback who has had film/TV placement (either through dispatch or by manually submitting tracks to production music libraries) and the experience you had working with music supervisors. I've read articles that Michael wrote, and attended his seminar in Tampa a few weeks ago, and he suggested trying to get as much music as possible into various production music libraries (if anyone has a list of some good ones, that'd be great too!)I guess I'm just a bit confused about the whole process - it seems like a placement through dispatch would put you in contact with a music supervisor who would potentially license your track for their broadcast. Am I correct to assume that I still would hold the copyright, and could use this same track in another production of mine, or another broadcast? Now in contrast, if I were to submit music to a production library, would I only then own a percentage (that would entitle me publishing money based on performance royalties)? Would these libraries buy the tracks outright from me, or just keep them in their catalog and pay me only if they were used? Could I submit the same tracks to multiple production libraries?Here is a quote from Michael's "Television Music" article: "My advice--try to license the stuff that's been sitting on the shelf for a while and has no great probability of ever being a hit. Save your best for Clive Davis if your ultimate goal is to get a record deal."Is this because you are signing exclusive rights to the production music library to make it into their catalog?One last thing (which I thought Taxi may provide a comprehensive list of before I joined) is finding the right libraries to work with. Here is the final quote from Michael's article: "One word of advice--the