Need an Honest Opinion!

By popular demand...

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

thewordman

Need an Honest Opinion!

Post by thewordman » Wed Aug 25, 2004 3:15 pm

Please let me know what you think of the make up of these Lyrics. I am new to song writing so please be gentle. Thanks!"Back When It was Just You and Me"We can’t always be thereThey’ve got to learn to stand aloneThey’ve gotta find their wayAnd make it on their ownSomehow we’ve got to learnTo let goNo more homeworkNo more ballgamesThey’ve grown up now My how times have changedIt’s time for them to flyWe gave them wingsIt’s time we got back To the way it used to beWhen our love was young and freeAnd life was a mysteryBack when it was just you and meThat’s the way it’s always beenThat’s the way it’s got to beWe can’t interfere with their destinyThey’ve got to make their ownHistoryThey’ve got to makeTheir own mistakes and hurtThey won’t forget What they have learnedWe’ve showed them how to playNow it’s their turn We’ve done the best we can and now it’s up to themIt’s come back to us now our lives begin againIt’s time we got back To the way it used to beWhen our love was young and freeAnd life was a mysteryBack when it was just you and me From here on out it’s just you and me

bitwhys
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Re: Need an Honest Opinion!

Post by bitwhys » Thu Aug 26, 2004 5:35 am

"It’s time for them to flyWe gave them wings"very sentimental. i sense a nice ballad in this. one niggly you're welcome to use if you like. the two lines I've quoted kind of stand out because they're more metaphorical than the rest of the piece. they're nice but kind of used a lot already in plenty of other songs and kind of seem awkward for an otherwise very nice prosaic lyric.might I suggest..."It's time to let them gowe've shown them how"??nice work. keep the faith,b
"Its a curious thing that God learned Greek when he wished to turn author - and that he did not learn it better" - Nietzsche

ciskokidd
Committed Musician