First time forwarded - Now what?

Got a forward? Wanna brag about it? Post it up.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

tomyco
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

First time forwarded - Now what?

Post by tomyco » Mon Apr 16, 2007 6:08 am

After two attempts, I had a song forwarded to a publisher who was looking for Holiday and Christmas music. What a GREAT feeling to be one of the few chosen ones. Now What?It is my understanding that the client will now contact you if they are interested?Now I know that it's still a long shot!If by chance I am contacted by the client, what can I expect? I've been writing songs for over twenty years, but I am really new to the music industry. I have no idea what to expect? Percentages? Money up front? what is the norm on contracts? What type of money are we talking about?Your answers to my questions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

mixopenta
Impressive
Impressive

Re: First time forwarded - Now what?

Post by mixopenta » Tue Apr 17, 2007 3:17 am

Congratulations on your forward!Next is to equip yourself with a good portion of patience. It might take some time for the publisher to contact you in case he's interested. There will be others on this board that might be able to inform you what kind of money you could expect. Which I guess in any event could vary greatly depending on what type of agreement you're looking at.I signed my first deal with a publisher a year ago, but haven't heard anything yet. I guess it's even worse with libraries, where a potential turn around can be anywhere from 1,5-2 years to "perpetuity".My advice is that you lean back and enjoy this sweet moment just for a while, than keep submitting as much as you can. But it will make your future submissions so much easier with this forward in mind Way to go!

davewalton
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by davewalton » Tue Apr 17, 2007 5:30 am