Transferring analog to digital....tascam tape to Zoomr16

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

fret17
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Transferring analog to digital....tascam tape to Zoomr16

Post by fret17 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 10:36 am

Hi folks.....I've made the decision to switch from analog to digital recording in the hopes that I may produce a more quiet and profound product in the future, as well as hopefully clean up a number of analog recordings...I researched the Zoom R16 and found it's features to be what I may be looking for in post production....as I've no experience with hardware digital recording I plan to experiment quite a bit to get familiar with what it can do, and there's a lot to cover in the manual.....I was hoping to hear from some of you more experienced with hardware digital if it's possible to transfer analog tracks to digital tracks(one by one) so that they line up at the same starting point, track for track, in the digital recorder...is this a common feature in hareware digital recorders?...I've been so busy of late that I haven't even opened the box.... but it would be nice to know now that it can...also if anyone is using an R16..maybe some things I should know...thanks for your help!

Len911
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: Transferring analog to digital....tascam tape to Zoomr16

Post by Len911 » Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:24 pm

Tom, there used to be a synch function, a few years ago I recall, though I doubt if anything including the zoom would have that now, but it looks like the R16 comes bundled with Cubase LE-4, which should make it easy to do all your editing. If they aren't lined up, you can just grab the waveform and drag it over, not only will you have sound but you can see the waveform. I'm sure you'll be in there trimming and cleaning up your old recordings anyway, so it's really not a big to do. On second thought, the synch function might have been for the old tascam digital tape devices.