This is the year

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

teleblaster
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

This is the year

Post by teleblaster » Thu Jan 20, 2011 12:47 pm

That I start my five year plan :).

I've been doing TAXI part time for 3 years now. I have 3 publishing deals, about 125 songs licensed, and about 50-60 placements on cable TV, no major network or ad agency stuff yet. My 2010 royalty income bearly breaks into 4 digits. Not exactly enough to quit my day job yet :mrgreen: t I've got a wife, 4 kids, 3 cars, 3 dogs, 2 cats and a fishing and duck-hunting habit to support. All in all I burn as much coin a month as a small 3rd world country just to 'keep the lights on'. It poses a challenge to making a career change, but I refuse to let that stop me. Barring a large cash windfall, or some quantum movement in my royalty checks, this is going to take some time; hence kicking off the 5 year plan today.

I got time. I'm 50 years young next month, and the best part is that I love what I'm doing. I can't wait to get home, kiss the wife and kids and head downstairs to work on music. I also love hangin' with the TAXI folks on this board, at rallies and via emails etc.

All for now. Just wanted to say this 'out loud' to folks who'd understand. Lunch break is over, time to put a button ending on it. See you all on the boards! May all your submissions go forward.
Last edited by teleblaster on Thu Jan 20, 2011 8:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

fret17
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: This is the year

Post by fret17 » Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:15 pm

Last edited by fret17 on Tue Feb 01, 2011 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

eeoo
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by eeoo » Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:22 pm

Go Erich! I'd say you're off to a great start and I look forward taking the journey with you!

eo

Tim_Behrens
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Post by Tim_Behrens » Thu Jan 20, 2011 2:24 pm

Hey there Erich,