Too Much Distortion

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

yan2112

Too Much Distortion

Post by yan2112 » Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:54 am

Hi, I’m new to Taxi and have only submitted a few songs so far but I keep getting returns with the ‘Too Much Distortion’ box ticked. The explanations given are:

‘Your instrumental tones could use some more clarity and balance.’

‘broadcast quality listings (especially with high-end publishers) are pretty strict about sound quality - there could be significantly less muffle in the instrumentation.’

‘OK recording quality, but could use some more polish, as is, it's on the lo-fi side.’

I’m a bit puzzled. Are they talking about actual distortion in the recording or about the sound quality of the tones used or about the overall sound of the mix or all of the above?

Apologies if this has been discussed in other threads – I have looked.

The songs in question are:

http://soundcloud.com/shadowplay-collective/hey-there

http://soundcloud.com/shadowplay-collec ... e-promises

If anyone can give advice on this topic it would be much appreciated.

Thanks

mojobone
King of the World
King of the World

Re: Too Much Distortion

Post by mojobone » Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:52 pm

Yeah, I'd say those comments are dead on; the lead vocal in the first track sounds muddy and muffled, in particular. (not talking about the mega-distorted intro vocal, that sounded intentional, to my ear) If you were trying to tame some sibilance, I'd say you went more than a little too far. You really don't want to distort every element in your mix, because there's no contrast, you're piling mud on top of mud. Even the hihat sounds crunchy, like it was printed too hot to tape.