What Chords Do Those Numbers Mean?

Songwriting, songwriters, etc

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

ronnie35
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: What Chords Do Those Numbers Mean?

Post by ronnie35 » Sat Jun 22, 2013 10:09 pm

If it sounds good to your ear thats all that matters I haVE A DEGREE IN MUSIC AND AT TIMES IT CAN BE A HAZARD OTHER TIMES IT WORKS.
RS
Chopin: "Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties. After one has played a vast quantity of notes and more notes, it is simplicity that emerges as the crowning reward of art." http://www.ronschultz.org

Casey H
King of the World
King of the World

Post by Casey H » Sun Jun 23, 2013 7:52 am

ronnie35 wrote:If it sounds good to your ear thats all that matters I haVE A DEGREE IN MUSIC AND AT TIMES IT CAN BE A HAZARD OTHER TIMES IT WORKS.
RS
That is true, follow your ears. But it's also true that different chord patterns are sometimes related to the era of a song, so if you are writing to sound current -or- sound like a particular era, you may have to stick to the chord patterns that are more commonly used for the style.

One casual observation (not written in stone at all!) I had was that contemporary music stays more within the primary chords of a key. In the late 60's and early 70's, it was more anything goes. The Beatles and Stones threw in all sorts of interesting chord changes. When I first started writing, being a child of that era, I tended to write more like that. Now I'm less likely to do that unless it's intentionally a retro-era piece.

There are probably tons of exceptions to what I said above.

;) Casey

CHuckmott
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by CHuckmott » Sun Jun 23, 2013 3:41 pm