Critique only a 5 on Engineering

Songwriting, songwriters, etc

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Susanstunes
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Critique only a 5 on Engineering

Post by Susanstunes » Tue Jun 21, 2016 4:23 pm

Hi everyone I am brand new to Taxi and submitted my first song and got a critique which I understand well and got a lot out of except don't know why engineering was given a 5 - it was recorded in a professional studio. Any thoughts? Listen here:

https://soundcloud.com/user-287596640/change_rev1-1

Russell Landwehr
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Critique only a 5 on Engineering

Post by Russell Landwehr » Thu Jun 23, 2016 5:19 am

Hi Susan.

Welcome to the Forums! :D

This kind of question would probably get noticed better in the TAXI Review Station or Peer to Peer sections here in the Forums.

I'm hearing two things in this that could have got you that 5. First, in the vocals there seems to be quite a few microphone "pops" on the plosives. Specially when the vocals say a "P".

The other thing is the "pedal thump" on the piano. If this is a real piano then the engineer probably should have placed the microphone in a different spot. If this is a Virtual Piano (sample based), then the amount of "pedal thump" should have been turned down because it is distracting. Still, I've heard solo piano pieces used on TV with WAY too much pedal thump in them (in my opinion). Pedal thump is one of my pet-peeves and I probably would have knocked some points off as well. (if I were a screener... which I'm not... I just second-guess them in the Forums :lol: )

Best regards
Russell Landwehr
Multi-Genre Composer and Producer of TV and Film music Providing Easy to Use Cues for Every Scene

http://www.sensawehr.com
https://www.taximusic.com/hosting/home. ... l_Landwehr
http://soundcloud.com/russell-landwehr

Susanstunes
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Post by Susanstunes » Thu Jun 23, 2016 7:45 am

Thank you kindly Russell! That helps. Susan