Submissions

Before you rant, READ THIS!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

sharonmak

Submissions

Post by sharonmak » Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:25 am

I'm still pretty new to this. My question...can I submit the same track to several Los tings simultaneously? Or do I need to only submit to one listing and wait to see what comes of it before submitting that track to another listing? Thanks!! :D

kclements
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Submissions

Post by kclements » Wed Feb 17, 2016 4:47 am

As long as the cue isn't signed (exclusively) to a library, it is perfectly ok to submit the same cue to multiple listings if it fits the listing. I've had the best luck getting a forward by writing a cue specifically for that listing though. Seems 90% of the time, a cue I had sitting around that I thought would work, didn't get a forward.

I have also had the experience of submitting a cue to a couple listings, getting it forwarded to both, signing it to one library and then getting a call from the other library wanting to sign it. The second library was a bit upset that the cue was already signed, but I offered to write another one and we worked it out. its only happened once, but it's good to know and be prepared to offer them something.

Cheers
kc
kayle clements

When opportunity knocks, you better be dressed and ready to go!

clementunes.com | taxi | soundcloud

sharonmak

Post by sharonmak » Wed Feb 24, 2016 1:28 am

This is very helpful! Thank you so much for taking your time :D

RenneStone

Post by RenneStone » Fri Mar 18, 2016 12:02 pm

Had the same question! thank you :)

stevetwosheds
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Post by stevetwosheds » Fri Jul 08, 2016 10:42 am

In the old days (I'm a dinosaur!) - the 70's! - I remember reading in a respected songwriter magazine run by a big organization who shall remain nameless, that it was considered unprofessional to submit to more than one company at a time.