Going to have to STRONGLY disagree with screener #309...

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

CharlesLorenMusic
Active
Active

Going to have to STRONGLY disagree with screener #309...

Post by CharlesLorenMusic » Wed Aug 31, 2016 4:21 pm

I never write posts like this, but this critique was so mind-boggling that I had to vent. Out of all the genres I pitch to the Taxi screeners, almost 100% of my "90's hip-hop" instrumentals get forwarded. It's my specialty. I've been experimenting with old-school hip-hop for over 10 years, influenced by the greats like DJ Premier, Pete Rock, Dr. Dre and many more.

Let me make it clear that I'm NOT mad about the return. I can deal with a return, especially when I get some insightful criticism on why it didn't go through. But the excuse that this screener gave, for the first time ever, struck some anger in me.

Here's a brief summary of the listing: "1990’s Style HIP-HOP INSTRUMENTAL CUES, $2,500 to $3,500 Direct-to-Supervisor placements in a Film on Netflix. Ballpark of Wu-Tang Clan, DMX, Naughty By Nature. Authentic ‘90s vibe, with compelling beats, and a subtle, yet attention-grabbing melodic hook."

If you would, please listen to "Who's Testin'" on my taxi page attached in my signature.

Now, I would understand if the reason for return was because it was too different a mood from the examples, or if the instrumentation was too busy or not busy enough, what have you. But the only thing the screener wrote, and I quote, is "I like where you went with your beats, but I don't hear the 90's influences". Once again, I'm not mad at the return. They even complemented my production. But to say that you don't hear the 90's influence... what do you hear?! I definitely don't hear these type of beats in post-2000! All I hear is trap beats, overwhelming bass, booty-shaking pop beats drowned in synths and auto-tune. If this isn't a 90's influenced beat, I don't know what it is.