Recommendations for New Recording Set-Up?

Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

RachelLeeWalsh

Recommendations for New Recording Set-Up?

Post by RachelLeeWalsh » Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:25 pm

Hi TAXI family.
I've been using ProTools/MBox2/Mac configuration for many years for my small home studio as a songwriter. It's done me well over the years, but I now need to upgrade. I've looked at the ProTools family of products since I'm so familiar with them, but am curious about other options. I think ProTools/Quartet combo is the most fitting for me, but curious if anyone has any recommendations on any less expensive options from other brands.
I generally need to record via 2-5 inputs at the same time and probably total on average about 10 tracks in a season. I mostly record acoustic instruments, vocals, and occasionally virtual instruments.
Recommendations?

Thanks,
Rachel

Russell Landwehr
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Recommendations for New Recording Set-Up?

Post by Russell Landwehr » Sat Jan 14, 2017 4:28 pm

Hi, Rachel.

If you are thinking of moving to a different platform, expect that to require a very steep learning curve.

I'm not a protools guy, can't stand it really. But that's because I am so used to other DAWs. If you want to continue to be efficient, you should probably stick with what you know.

As far as interfaces, decide your desired input and output configuration, then buy the best one you can afford.

Regards
Russell Landwehr
Multi-Genre Composer and Producer of TV and Film music Providing Easy to Use Cues for Every Scene

http://www.sensawehr.com
https://www.taximusic.com/hosting/home. ... l_Landwehr
http://soundcloud.com/russell-landwehr

RachelLeeWalsh

Post by RachelLeeWalsh » Sat Jan 14, 2017 8:18 pm

Thanks Russell.
There really is something to that, isn't there? Time is money and ease of use is important to me as it's most important to give time to the work, so I'll keep your opinion in mind.