What if you write lyrics only?

Before you rant, READ THIS!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

jeh

What if you write lyrics only?

Post by jeh » Fri Mar 17, 2017 1:29 pm

I know I am not good at composing but I consider myself to be a good lyricist. Is there any hope for someone like me if I sign up for a Taxi membership?
I have big dreams for a career as a lyricist....please try to be realistic
Last edited by jeh on Sun Mar 19, 2017 11:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Len911
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: What if you write lyrics only?

Post by Len911 » Fri Mar 17, 2017 5:44 pm

Realistically maybe not unless you find composer collaborators. If you can at least peck out a melody, then an arrangement.

Software today makes it a lot easier to move beyond "lyrics only", and I would encourage it.
https://soundcloud.com/huck-sawyer-finn
Not an expert on contemporary music

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by hummingbird » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:19 pm

Jeh I'd start by looking for collaborators who write in the genres you're best at... and be clear on your goals, place songs with artists or in film/tv....
"As we are creative beings, our lives become our works of art." (Julia Cameron)

Shy Singer-Songwriter Blog

Vikki Flawith Music Website

jeh

Post by jeh » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:42 pm

Is it possible to be a member of Taxi and then find a collaborator in Taxi?

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by hummingbird » Fri Mar 17, 2017 11:04 pm

Of course, but I think that's doing it backwards. You already belong to the forum and have access to all members here. There is also the chat at TAXI TV on Mondays. And if you find a collaborator or collaborators by participating in the community, and they are members of TAXI then they can submit for both of you.