best daw for interweb collaboration

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

TheRealPatrickAdams
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

best daw for interweb collaboration

Post by TheRealPatrickAdams » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:20 pm

Just wondering how those who are collaborating online with others are doing it. I am extremely new to Daw's and doing the research to pick one to start learning to use. What are the pros/cons of what you use? Thanks for the help.

P.S. Hoping to find new collaborators at the Rally this year.
Patrick Adams
Singer/ songwriter in the country tradition. Storyteller and musician working to connect the human race through love and song.
Email: padams_77@yahoo.com
Email: twangquest@gmail.com
Twitter: @PatrickAdams307
www.taxi.com/members/PatrickAdams307
Instagram:@patrickadams307

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: best daw for interweb collaboration

Post by hummingbird » Thu Sep 07, 2017 12:47 pm

Hi Patrick - I don't think the DAW matters. If I am collaborating musically I'm going to be sending / accepting stems that are wav files for mixing into the project.

We always start out with a rough worktape that has a count-in at the beginning, and is setup according to the agreed arrangement. I put that into my DAW and write/record my contribution using it as a guide. I then mute the worktape and run off the stems and send them (without removing silence from start)... I'll usually put the countin at the start so it's easy for the mixer to line up the tracks.

JMHO.

In terms of what to use - Tracktion just announced that Tracktion 6 is now free to use. This is a great DAW imo, easy to use and relatively low priced as well. I have used Tracktion for years.
https://www.tracktion.com/products/t6-daw
"As we are creative beings, our lives become our works of art." (Julia Cameron)

Shy Singer-Songwriter Blog

Vikki Flawith Music Website

Len911
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by Len911 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:32 am