Good laptop for home recording?

Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

billhewett
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Good laptop for home recording?

Post by billhewett » Mon Oct 30, 2017 8:20 pm

As a PC/Linux user who *hates* using Macs, I will add another +1 for the Mac in terms of simlicity/lack of headaches. I work in IT as my day job, so I have connections and know how to build a powerful PC for a much lower price point, and I know how to get under the hood to optimize the workflow and prevent common issues... but for everyday users it can be a real battle to wrangle a PC :)

And I would also say that the learning curve should be minimal if your primary use for the laptop is music... you need to know how to open your DAW, how to open iTunes (for organizing and tagging music), how to open "Finder" instead of "Windows Explorer". Once you get used to the menus being attached to the top of the monitor instead of the application Window you're good to go! (there are a few other gotchas you'll run into, but as Lester said, Google will get you through)

-Bill

mojobone
King of the World
King of the World

Post by mojobone » Mon Nov 13, 2017 9:47 pm

I also recently transitioned to a refurb Mac Pro, and I ain't looking back. Lack of USB 3.0/T-Bolt hasn't been an issue thus far, and there's been way less downtime from OS issues than with the prior PC rig.
The Straight Stuff; Roots, Rock & Soul

http://twangfu.wordpress.com
http://twitter.com/mojo_bone

5barIMP
Active
Active

Post by 5barIMP » Thu Aug 30, 2018 3:15 am