Want your lyics reviewed? Post 'em up!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Razor7Music
Impressive
Impressive

Trying to Build My Lyric Writing Craft

Post by Razor7Music » Fri Jun 22, 2018 2:37 pm

Hi Group--

I've been trying to apply what I'm learning from songwriting books, classes at Road Rallies, and online tutorials. I've been writing for many years, but only recently really started trying to use those tips that the pros recommend, and I have to say, I finally feel like I'm getting closer to where I'd like my lyrics to be.

The below lyrics are from one of my latest productions that I got a lot of positive feedback for--and I just wanted to share it with the group.

I hope you like them...

Above It All
© 2017 Stephen Davis

There's a time in your life when the fights you've won were the ones never started, your fist never swung. You made your way above it all.

Feel that heat, that’s a flame right behind that door. In the street, wolves in woolen declaring their war. It’s time to soar, above them all.

We'll march to roaring cheers, “You saved tomorrow!” A brighter world for all some day.
(A brighter world for all)

Well alright this time is yours. Stand and fight or let it go. Take a step above it all.

Can’t ignore there’s a problem and just go home. We'll wake up too late when we’re all overthrown. They set themselves above us all.

Stand up as we raise our banner. Heads up as we fly…

Look below
Don't get thrown
See their leaders disguised as simple progress
Watch them spit in our eyes, those guys could care less
Keep the goal on home
You're not alone

We've waited all these years and nothing changes. What in the world was going wrong?
(what in the world is going...)

Reach inside and pull your hero out, c’mon you got this. To change the world it takes the strong…
(To change the world it takes us)

Well alright this time is yours. Stand and fight or let it go. Take a step above it all.