Hello

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

PaulaRay

Hello

Post by PaulaRay » Tue Oct 02, 2018 7:35 pm

Hey everyone!
Thought I'd introduce myself.
I'm a music teacher who majored on clarinet and ended up gigging mostly on saxophone, after I pawned the jewelry my first husband gave me and bought an old sax. I made one Nashville trip to pitch songs, had my music ed degree fresh in hand, but decided I needed to back-burner songwriting and go for the salary with benefits. Sitting in Shoney's near music row - I realized I didn't fit in- too young, too much classical and jazz music in my blood, and far too shy.

Fast-forward thirty years...the songwriting dream hasn't died. I've taught band, chorus, general music, piano....played in all sorts of ensembles....discovered I love to write words (I mean...I REALLY enjoy writing words) became a poet and fiction writer, even published four books under a pen name. They were romances. I'm not a romance reader. I studied the market because it sells well and I gave it a go. Turns out - I can write romance and the books sell. BUT - my heart isn't in it.

Speaking of heart...I had a heart attack a couple of years ago. Seemed like I was too young for such things, but I came out of it with a strong desire to figure out what my life's purpose is. I think it's writing songs. It's what I did as a child, even before my first piano lesson. My mother died at 31 and wanted me to learn piano. So, I became this obsessive little girl who spent far too long on the piano bench, trying to learn a Mozart Minuet after four weeks of lessons. Had to make Mama proud. She knew I was a little songwriter--the quiet kid writing songs on napkins in restaurants while the grown-ups talked.