Tell Your Friends about Gear that you love

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Razor7Music
Impressive
Impressive

Ever Use Sampled Acoustic Guitars?

Post by Razor7Music » Thu Nov 15, 2018 1:54 pm

Hello Group--

Yes, it's that time of year again where every music equipment manufacturer and software company sends you their amazing Thanksgiving sales promos that I want to ignore, but seem to always step too close to the edge of their ads and get pulled into the vortex...

NI is having a 50% Thanksgiving sale and I see they have two acoustic guitar samples on sale for <$50 each.

Strummed Acoustic https://www.native-instruments.com/en/p ... -acoustic/
Strummed Acoustic 2 https://www.native-instruments.com/en/p ... coustic-2/

I have never used sampled acoustic guitars before, but feel like it might speed up some of my production time if it sounds right. The price is right, as I've always been pleased with NI samples, features, and configurability.

Q: Here is my question. Are those samples good enough for Taxi submissions? I know some piano and string samples that were played at the RR were not, as indicated by the panel, so I know they are listening for realism.

What are your thoughts?
Last edited by Razor7Music on Thu Nov 15, 2018 3:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks,

Stephen Davis, Songwriter
Music: here
For Daily Progress Reports on Twitter: @razor7music
Facebook: @r7mStephenDavis

“If everyone likes you, you're doing something wrong” --Jenna McMahon

Unstar
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Re: Ever Use Sampled Acoustic Guitars?

Post by Unstar » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:00 pm

I use those strummed acoustics and I think they sound pretty good. I don't know if they're "good enough for Taxi" though. I use them to track song ideas and then work with my guitarist friend. Here is a small sample of me noodling. Acoustic strummer (i forget if it's 1 or 2) and RealGuitar doing the lead.