End of Year number crunching & placements

Did you get a deal through TAXI? Lets hear about it!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

VanderBoegh
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

End of Year number crunching & placements

Post by VanderBoegh » Sat Dec 22, 2018 6:21 pm

I'm shutting down the studio computer until 2019 in just a few minutes, but wanted to post a few successes with you all and share some numbers from this past year.

First off, I want everyone to know that even though I've been doing this for seven years now, I still miss the target on submissions. A lot. It happens. I finished this year with 92 submissions, and 50 forwards out of those. That's somewhere around a 55% forward rate, not that I really care about that percentage, because all it takes is ONE forward to make magic happen. I mostly just wanted to share that statistic to show people that even us seasoned vets take our lumps just like everyone else. In my case, 42 times, lol.

Okay, now for the fun stuff! Since coming home from the Road Rally, my constant co-writers Marcus Cohen & Terrell Burt have kept me posted on various placements we've landed with vocal tracks we made a year ago in December of 2017.

Marcus and I got two tracks on "The Young and the Restless" (Marcus has been dominating this show lately!). I'm pretty sure that's the first time my music has been used on a soap opera.

Terrell and I got a song we did at the tail end of 2017 on TI's show "The Grand Hustle" on VH1.

A song Owen Chaim and I finished on New Year's Eve last year has been making the rounds on a few reality shows ("Black Ink Crew" & "The Grand Hustle").

Vocal placements are always super fun for me to hear about, because they're much more satisfying than my instrumental placements.... even though I only get half of the royalties, haha. But something about reveling in the success with your co-writer friends is really special.