Newbie- What genre am I?

Songwriting, songwriters, etc

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

annalynchmusic

Newbie- What genre am I?

Post by annalynchmusic » Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:21 pm

Hello! I am pretty new to TAXI and am wanting to submit to a lot of listings but am a little hesitant because I realized I am not quite sure what genre I write best in?
When I gig I play country/americana however that doesn't mean some of the songs I write couldn't be jazzed up a bit to fit a different genre entirely, and I am more than ok with that.

Is there a good general rule for what kind of content works best within certain genres? Would I be silly to submit one of my bummed out girl music tunes to a pop listing?

jaywilliams
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Newbie- What genre am I?

Post by jaywilliams » Sat Dec 29, 2018 3:49 pm

annalynchmusic wrote:
Sat Dec 29, 2018 2:21 pm
Would I be silly to submit one of my bummed out girl music tunes to a pop listing?
Hi Anna welcome to Taxi!

I'll focus on your last question, as that may help you with your other questions and concerns.

Short answer: yes, that would be silly.

Longer answer: listen to the reference tracks provided in the listing, if the track you want to submit sounds like the reference tracks then go for it!

Its great to have a back catalog, but you'll probably have greater success by writing songs specifically for Taxi listings.

Do that a few times, read the listings closely, and listen to the reference tracks a bunch.

That will help you understand what the screeners are listening for, and then you'll be better able to evaluate which tracks from your back catalog will likely suit any given listing.

Hope that makes sense, if not keep asking until it does!

Jay :)
// keep it groovy and make great music :) - Jay

J.W. Hagarty, Producer
Jay Williams Productions
Spotify: bit.ly/spotifyjay
Web: jaywilliamsproductions.com
Songtradr: jay.williams.productions
SoundCloud: jay-williams-productions

annalynchmusic