PRO Advice

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

parwalker

PRO Advice

Post by parwalker » Mon Jan 14, 2019 12:11 pm

Hi everyone, I'd be grateful for some opinion on this. I have just had my first forward and as a result have been offered a deal for the forwarded cue. I'm new to this aspect of the game and the company offering me the deal are asking for PRO info and CAE - IPI numbers. I've just registered with PRS (I'm UK based) but have to send paperwork back to them and wait for my account to be activated before I can get CAE - IPI number. Obviously I don't want to miss the opportunity but I feel it would be unwise to send the masters and sign the contract without doing so. It's a fairly standard 50/50 split as far as I can see, I keep the writers they have the publishing. Having tried to find answers on the forums here there seems to be conflicting opinions around the necessity to register the cue with a my own PRO as the company will register it with theirs and I will get what's due to come to me anyway. Then other people disagree with that. It's been a very fast education for me over the past few days and I'm very confused and uncertain as to what would be the wisest course of action for me here. Any clarification or help on this would be very much appreciated. Thanks in advance. Pete.

guscave
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: PRO Advice

Post by guscave » Wed Jan 16, 2019 2:27 pm

Hey, Congrats on the forward and the deal. I'm not too familiar with PRS as I'm in the US and signed with BMI, so I don't know how long it will take you to get the information back from PRS. However I would contact the library and let them know you're waiting on the CAE number and you will send it to them as soon as you get it. No reason to wait until you get the forms to send them the masters, contracts, etc.

Remember that the PRO is only going to come into play once your song gets broadcast. That can take months if not years.