Newbie Strategy

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

CaseyK

Newbie Strategy

Post by CaseyK » Wed Apr 03, 2019 4:33 pm

Hey all! So excited that I can post to the forums now! As you may have guessed by the subject line, I am new to Taxi. I had been a member before, but I was that guy who was bound and determined to make his previous recordings fit any listing remotely close to its description (square peg, round hole as Michael says). But I have come back with a new determination and mindset to write music that will fit the listings. However, I am having some trouble knowing where to start and how to strategize.

To give some brief info about myself, my goal with Taxi is to build a career and make a living creating instrumentals and cues for film and TV. I also aspire to eventually branch out to writing songs with lyrics. My wheelhouse stylistically is rock, blues, and singer-songwriter type stuff. I'm not entirely sure of how strong I am even in my "comfort zone", so I hope to get some feedback from Taxi about that. But I believe I have the ability to mimic and emulate different styles or genres. For example, I tried writing a dramedy piece and I was fairly pleased with the results. Still, I have a lot to learn. But all of this leaves me uncertain of what steps to take with Taxi.

The main question I am asking right now is what should I be writing? Should I just write what comes naturally to me and build up my catalog? Should I write in genres that are consistently posted for (dramedy, hip-hop instrumentals, etc...)? Should I write specifically for active postings with the hope of being able to have something ready to submit by the deadline?

I would be so thankful for any advice you guys could give. Thank you for taking the time to read this!

-Casey

ttully
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Newbie Strategy

Post by ttully » Thu Apr 04, 2019 9:31 am

Hi Casey,