Forwards Question

Got a forward? Wanna brag about it? Post it up.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

JIMUSIC

Forwards Question

Post by JIMUSIC » Mon Jun 17, 2019 6:51 am

Hi everyone,

I'm still pretty new at Taxi and I have some questions for some of you more seasoned members

If your forwarded work is wanted by a library who receives it, is it typical that a library would sign a contract with the writer to publish 1 single cue?
For example, is it desirable for a library to pick 10 forwarded tracks, 1 each from 10 different members, and use them to create 1 new album around a certain genre?

I can't help but wonder if they would rather not do this much paper work. Or in reality is it all quick and easy to sign many cues from many different members?

Is Taxi more like a place to get noticed - and then make a full album of work to sign over when/if libraries get in contact with you?
Or is it more like a place where you can get lots of individual cues signed over with various libraries through many listings?

Has anyone had a single cue signed? is it common or rare?

I know there can't be one rule for all libraries, but what kind of patterns do you see? what are your experiences?

I have not been contacted by a library yet - I am just looking to keep my expectations in check and based in reality.

Thank you!

Joseph

ttully
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Forwards Question

Post by ttully » Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:08 am

Hi Joseph,
Yes...I have signed many many times just 1 track to a library or TV show.
Also, I have a few libraries that will not accept more than 1 track... they are swamped.

My 1 cents worth,
Tim

JIMUSIC

Post by JIMUSIC » Fri Jun 21, 2019 2:41 am

Hi Tim,

Thanks for the response - that's really encouraging to hear.

Could I ask out of interest, if you know to hand, what kind of forwards to signings ratio might be realistic, or what has that been in your experience?