Brave New World Or Dystopian Future?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

jacreeve

Re: Brave New World Or Dystopian Future?

Post by jacreeve » Fri Sep 06, 2019 8:22 am

Yeah, it's scary stuff, huh? AI certainly makes me think twice about songwriting as a future source of income. It's hard enough already to get a toehold in this industry! I take some comfort from this piece by Nick Cave, but I might just be fooling myself:

https://www.vice.com/en_us/article/nexb ... great-song

davidira
Active
Active

Post by davidira » Fri Sep 06, 2019 1:05 pm

Right now I see this more brave new world than a dystopian future.

As somebody playing music for 35 years - i love the stuff that I can do today that just didn't exist. I love my AI Logic drummer(s) - they're great and come up with drum lines I can't think of cuz I'm a guitarist.

The simple fact that we can sit down as one person and make a song from start to finish is F'N AMAZING and has been enabled by all sorts of "AI".