Song Submission Quality - 192kbps?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

BradGray
Impressive
Impressive

Song Submission Quality - 192kbps?

Post by BradGray » Mon Sep 09, 2019 4:21 pm

Hey All,

I'm new to taxi and I'm trying to navigate my way around here. When uploading songs to my profile, I notice I have to lower the quality to 192Kbps. Does this reduced quality affect songs that I would be submitting for a listing? It appears that when submitting, I just submit songs that I've already uploaded...unless I'm missing something.

Thanks,
Brad

ResonantTone
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: Song Submission Quality - 192kbps?

Post by ResonantTone » Mon Sep 09, 2019 7:34 pm

Yep, you got it Brad. Your songs are uploaded at the 192Kbps quality as an Mp3, and that is the file you submit to a listing.

It is downgrade in quality, but it's still plenty good for the screeners/music supervisors/libraries to listen to your music and make a decision on it. Once you get in contact with a supervisor/library, you'll need to supply them with the file format and quality that they request. (usually 24bit 48Khz .wav or something similar) I'm guessing the reason behind Taxi using the MP3 format is because of the massive amount of music they have to store at any given moment and the amount of space needed for it.

It's also important to know that when you listen to a song on a taxi members bio, it is streamed at a lower quality than the 192Khz file you have uploaded. This is not the quality that screener or the entity that created the listing will hear if it is forwarded. They will hear the 192Khz audio quality.

Hope that helps some! And welcome to Taxi! Lookin forward to hearing your stuff. :)

Andrew

BradGray
Impressive
Impressive

Post by BradGray » Tue Sep 10, 2019 3:18 am

Thanks Andrew!