Annual Update: YEAR 8

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

VanderBoegh
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Annual Update: YEAR 8

Post by VanderBoegh » Mon Oct 28, 2019 10:45 am

Wow, it's been nearly eight full years since I came home from my first Road Rally and decided to pursue making music for TV as a money-making endeavor. I've been posting these "annual updates" for the past 4-5 years right before the Rally, since it was a fateful Road Rally attendance by Yours Truly back in 2011 that inspired me to do this. Funny what one little weekend can do to a person's life and future!

Though this is my 8th year on the path, it was my third year of doing this as a full-time job. With one international royalty check still to come in, this will be my most profitable year yet. Sadly, I didn't crest the six-figure mark like I'd hoped (drat!), but I'll have come pretty damn close. Hopefully NEXT year is the one that sends me into $100K+ territory.

I had a lot of highlights this year, both musically and personally. Some of these gave me extra motivation, and some of them took me away from the studio for long periods of time.

I crested this mark last year, but it's so monumental that it's worth repeating again: I've landed over 10,000 placements on various TV shows throughout my career. This year has so far brought me an increase of 590 episodes on 62 new shows. How many unique placements is that in total for this year?? Hell if I know..... I'd need another intern to sift through those cue sheets to count 'em up. I'd guess it's probably around 1,500-2,000 though.

I landed four high-profile syncs recently, which will pay some nice upfront money.

Last January, I was asked to make music for the Super Bowl. Marcus Cohen and I made a whirlwind song that kicks all sorts of ass, but wasn't actually used during the game (bummer!), but has since been used on college basketball and 2019 NFL games (yay!).