New in here: Is This Usable At All?

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

michal
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

New in here: Is This Usable At All?

Post by michal » Fri Nov 08, 2019 3:39 am

Hi guys, I'm new to Taxi and was wondering if I could get your opinions.

One of the first emails I got from Taxi were instructions how to create many simple instrumental cues every year. So I tried following the instructions (1st guitar whole note acoustic guitar strums + 2nd guitar simple and sparse melodies, quick mix, done) exactly as outlined. This is for no particular listing, I would just like to know whether you think something like this is usable for a reality TV broadcast. Seems way too simple to me but then again, I'm quite new to this world.

https://soundcloud.com/michalsinka/calm-guitars/s-LdpsW

Thank you in advance for your feedback!

Michal
Michal Sinka
Guitarist | Producer
----------------
www.michalsinka.com
www.linkedin.com/in/michalsinka

SteveBaruah
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: New in here: Is This Usable At All?

Post by SteveBaruah » Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:41 am

Hi Michal,

I like what you have, I think it sounds good. I particularly like it when the lead guitar gets a bit busier at 1:04.
The thing you need to work on is your cue structure. What I would do is take what you have there, and edit it down into one 40 second (ish) section (A section).
Then have a B section, similar to the A section, but a deviation. Think of it as a bridge in a song (with the A section being your chorus). Maybe drop a whole note and go with a different chord progression, but keep the general feel of the cue.
Then bring in your A section again, but make it bigger and better. Maybe some light percussion, a smooth bass sound, a synth pad - there are no rules, whatever sounds good and BUILDS towards your stinger ending.
I think you'll have a very usable cue at the end of it.

michal
Getting Busy
Getting Busy