My first submission - a cue!

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

BradGray
Impressive
Impressive

My first submission - a cue!

Post by BradGray » Tue Jan 07, 2020 6:37 pm

Hey Taxi Community!

I've spent a long time lurking in the forums, watching online, and finally joined this year. I finally made my first submission! Hazaa! It probably sucks, but a place to start no less. =)

I'm new to it all, and this is my very first cue. Dramedy at 5 . I submitted it for the following, but it's my first attempt at cue music. I submitted it for the following: TAXI #S200111DA

Any tips, tricks, feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Brad

On a side note, I stuck to the advice Michael provided on Taxi TV in limiting myself to 4 hours to create the cue. Perhaps it shows, but I do like how it focuses you to make decicions.

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: My first submission - a cue!

Post by cosmicdolphin » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:35 pm

Hard to say without seeing the listing and hearing the refrence tracks

With nothing to go on other than the title I would say it doesn't sound like Dramedy to me. Dramadey is generally sneaky sounding orchestral music with pizzi strings etc. and I don't hear any of that in your track ..it seems to be piano and electric piano I think with a drum machine.

Have a listen to some Dramadey that's already in a high end Library ( bit of an unfair comparison but a good example of the genre ) https://www.universalproductionmusic.co ... amedy-cues

Generally I would also say it's too repetitive, and the raw sounds don't sounds like they are high enough quality i.e. they have a synthetic midi like quality so you may need to replace whatever instrument library you are using for something that sounds better.

Hope that helps

Mark

cassmcentee
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by cassmcentee » Wed Jan 08, 2020 3:40 pm

I agree, good advice from Mark