LUFS submissions standards (revisited)

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

BoiseMarketer

LUFS submissions standards (revisited)

Post by BoiseMarketer » Wed Jan 22, 2020 8:06 pm

I can see a post regarding LUFS from 2016 where someone points out they, "don't know anyone who uses LUFS." And I'm curious to see if that sentiment has changed today in 2020.

I am new to Taxi, but have been using Wave's Loudness Meter (set to Spotify's submission standards in the link below) to ensure my music is competitively loud.

In my research, on how much to factor LUFS into my final production; this video gives a compelling reason why LUFS are both relevant and important.

I would love to hear what the Taxi pros think and if using streaming standards is advisable for Taxi submissions.

LUFS Video On YT:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tMGIgJAsJpw

Spotify Submission Standards:
https://artists.spotify.com/faq/masteri ... s-mastered

Wave's Loud Meter:
https://www.waves.com/plugins/wlm-loudn ... eaming-wlm

ResonantTone
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Re: LUFS submissions standards (revisited)

Post by ResonantTone » Thu Jan 23, 2020 4:09 pm

Hey BoiseMarketer,

I think LUFs are very important for a few different reasons. I check them quite frequently as I am creating my music.

You definitely do not want to mix to streaming standards for Taxi submissions. Most of the streaming services such as spotify have a target of something like -14 db LUFS, and if you exceed this, you'll get a loudness penalty of sorts and it will be brought down. They do this so that they can normalize all their tracks and prevent massive perceived volume changes between songs.