Non exclusive vs exclusive licenses

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

kimm336

Non exclusive vs exclusive licenses

Post by kimm336 » Fri Apr 17, 2020 7:59 am

Hi. I am new to Taxi. I am ready to start submitting songs for placement but I'm a little nervous about licensing. I just want to make sure I make the right decision. Can anyone give me some advice on what to look for? I know I need to be established first but I don't want to be taken advantage of in the meantime. thanks for your help.

DesireInspires
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Non exclusive vs exclusive licenses

Post by DesireInspires » Fri Apr 17, 2020 11:52 am

Honestly, you will be taken advantage of if you put in any serious amount of time and effort into music licensing. Make your mistakes, correct course, and never repeat those mistakes. It is a process.

ResonantTone
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Post by ResonantTone » Fri Apr 17, 2020 6:41 pm

Hmm... if you're strictly speaking of exclusive vs non-exclusive deals, there are definitely pros and cons to both. However, the major trend for libraries over the last few years is to move away from non-exclusive deals and sign exclusive-rights music only. There are still non-exclusive libraries out there for sure... they are just getting less common. I heard someone recently say that instead of thinking of it as "signing your music away forever" with an exclusive deal, think of it as a commitment. If you're committed to the library and think they'll help you succeed, then it's absolutely worth the commitment. With the exception of a single cue, every placement I have received thus far has been from an exclusively signed song.