What type of license should I purchase?

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

JenniferBowman
Active
Active

What type of license should I purchase?

Post by JenniferBowman » Mon Jul 06, 2020 1:24 pm

I have been a Taxi member for about a year and I have learned so much from these forums. Thanks to all who take the time to help each other out!

I am primarily a pianist and I am working on some Christmas arrangements that are non public domain. In many of the Taxi listings it says something lIke “ must own or control master.”

I have purchased licenses to arrange non public domain songs for print but I am unsure which license to purchase if I am going to submit for sync or if that is something the publisher pays for and does?

Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: What type of license should I purchase?

Post by hummingbird » Mon Jul 06, 2020 3:38 pm

If the listing says they are looking for cover instrumental or cover song arrangements, then they will do the licencing.
"As we are creative beings, our lives become our works of art." (Julia Cameron)

Shy Singer-Songwriter Blog

Vikki Flawith Music Website

Susanstunes
Committed Musician
Committed Musician

Post by Susanstunes » Mon Jul 06, 2020 3:44 pm

JenniferBowman wrote:
Mon Jul 06, 2020 1:24 pm
I have been a Taxi member for about a year and I have learned so much from these forums. Thanks to all who take the time to help each other out!

I am primarily a pianist and I am working on some Christmas arrangements that are non public domain. In many of the Taxi listings it says something lIke “ must own or control master.”

I have purchased licenses to arrange non public domain songs for print but I am unsure which license to purchase if I am going to submit for sync or if that is something the publisher pays for and does?