Timing query

Before you rant, READ THIS!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Juliaviolinista

Timing query

Post by Juliaviolinista » Sun Jul 12, 2020 2:33 am

Hi all!

I’m new to Taxi and just wondering how strict they are on timings for submissions? I.e if the listing says 3-4 minutes give or take, is it ok to submit less than that? It also asks for the most relevant part on the arrangement and some of these don’t last very long!

If they want longer will they come back to you and request more or will they just scrap it?!

Thank you in advance!

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Re: Timing query

Post by hummingbird » Sun Jul 12, 2020 3:25 am

sorry for the double post. Sometimes I hit 'quote' instead of 'edit'... *needs coffee*
Last edited by hummingbird on Sun Jul 12, 2020 1:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"As we are creative beings, our lives become our works of art." (Julia Cameron)

Shy Singer-Songwriter Blog

Vikki Flawith Music Website

hummingbird
Total Pro
Total Pro

Post by hummingbird » Sun Jul 12, 2020 3:25 am

Juliaviolinista wrote:
Sun Jul 12, 2020 2:33 am
Hi all!

I’m new to Taxi and just wondering how strict they are on timings for submissions? I.e if the listing says 3-4 minutes give or take, is it ok to submit less than that? It also asks for the most relevant part on the arrangement and some of these don’t last very long!

If they want longer will they come back to you and request more or will they just scrap it?!

Thank you in advance!
If they say "give or take" I think 15 secs either way is probably ok. However, if they say specifically 90 seconds or 2 minutes I compose as close to that as possible. A 5 second overage is probably alright but I have been told, on listings where the time is a specific length, that my piece was too long. It wasn't the only reason for a return (off genre), but why give them an excuse.