Library taking 100% of Master Use fee - normal?

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

mwb2
Impressive
Impressive

Library taking 100% of Master Use fee - normal?

Post by mwb2 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 9:26 am

Hi all,

I have little experience with deals so I don't have a good idea for what is 'typical'.

A library contract I'm looking at basically says they get any sync fees, plus the publisher's royalties, and I'd get the writer's royalties. This is for instrumental tracks.

Is this kind of arrangement typical? It bugs me a bit that they would not split any up-front sync fees. With that said, a bad deal is better than no deal and I'm at the very beginning of this journey so I'm not worried too much.

Thanks for any advice,
Mike
Mike

soundcloud.com/mwb2
instagram.com/mikekrishton

mwb2
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Library taking 100% of Master Use fee - normal?

Post by mwb2 » Fri Sep 04, 2020 10:10 am

Thanks Paul - appreciate the input!

Cheers,
Mike
Mike

soundcloud.com/mwb2
instagram.com/mikekrishton

JohnDroese
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Post by JohnDroese » Fri Sep 04, 2020 11:59 am

I am not much further down the road I have 5 contracts with 4 libraries both instrumental as well as vocal tracks and I have never not split sync fees so to me it seems odd. why would they not? especially if they are taking 100% of publishing? What are the other terms? length of contract? exclusive? Do you plan on working more with this library? if so why? I know sometimes it seems like any deal is a good deal but you never know what tomorrow holds. I would ask them to split everything 50/50 and if not hold it for the next library. You have been validated your stuff is good enough that a library believes in it..... There will be more

just my two cents
Best of Luck
John

SubRivers
Impressive
Impressive

Post by SubRivers » Fri Sep 04, 2020 2:20 pm

Not sure what Master Use Fee is exactly