Anybody using "Reference" A/B Plugin?

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

MusicBug
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Anybody using "Reference" A/B Plugin?

Post by MusicBug » Sat Oct 10, 2020 4:30 pm

I'm looking into getting an A/B plugin so I can compare my mixes to reference tracks. Does anyone have experience with the "Reference" plugin made by Mastering the Mix? It seems like a good choice for the price, but I have no experience with these things so any advice will be welcome. I need to stay under $100 at the very most. The further under, the better as long as it works. Any ideas? Thanks.
"It's Never Too Late To Be What You Could Have Been." -- George Eliot

lesmac
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Anybody using "Reference" A/B Plugin?

Post by lesmac » Sat Oct 10, 2020 10:29 pm

I have it but haven't used it in a little while.

It's okay and does what it is designed to do.

I'd say hold off till you have the money to purchase Ozone 9. Ozone is really powerful and if you can get into it cheap somewhere you may be able to upgrade to standard down the line at a reduced price.

Kolstad
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by Kolstad » Sun Oct 11, 2020 2:37 am

I have Reference, and I think its the best Ive found for references. I used to use Magic AB, which was good but didn't have the level match feature, which is very convenient.
I use it a lot, along with their Levels plugin, which I think is fantastic.
Ceo of my own life

eeoo
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by eeoo » Sun Oct 11, 2020 8:10 am

Metric A/B from Plugin Alliance is pretty great. Lots of reference and metering options and goes on sale periodically for $49.

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by cosmicdolphin » Sun Oct 11, 2020 11:37 am

Kolstad wrote:
Sun Oct 11, 2020 2:37 am
I used to use Magic AB, which was good but didn't have the level match feature, which is very convenient.