Drum Track Doesn't Fit Well - Help!

with industry Pro, Nick Batzdorf

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

funkyguitar
Active
Active

Drum Track Doesn't Fit Well - Help!

Post by funkyguitar » Wed Dec 16, 2020 3:20 pm

I am new to GarageBand and using the drum track virtual drummer feature. I created a song with guitar that is at 85 BPM. But when I add the drum track it just doesn't fit well. I have tried a bunch of different drummers in GarageBand and have played with the settings as well, nothing seems to get it to be a good match. Any suggestions on what I can do to fix this? Here's a link to the recording of it: https://soundcloud.com/lancevallis/drums-dont-fit

Ted
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Drum Track Doesn't Fit Well - Help!

Post by Ted » Wed Dec 16, 2020 3:44 pm

Lance, I loved the track title "Drums Don't Fit".. you should use it for a future cue. haha

I had a listen and it didn't sound like it was a total trainwreck between the drums and everything else. Maybe I wasn't picking up on what direction the instruments were going in that the drums were not.

I haven't messed with Garageband in a while, though I use the Drummer in Logic X, and I expect there are some similarities. So off the top of my head, some things to consider. Check to see if your drums are set to any amount of "Swing"-- 8th or 16th note swing. There's likely a control that lets you dial in the amount of swing you want-- or none at all. That would be the first thing I'd check.

Doesn't sound like it in your case, but sometimes if I'm not paying attention, I'll have a song where it's got more of a 3/4 or 6/8 feel and I'll have my tempo/drums still set to 4/4. Sometimes you want to check your kick drums to see if they're set in half-time, regular or double-time. Again, not a problem that yours seems to be having.

Like I said, the first thing I'd check is to see if you've got a mismatch between swing and straight time somewhere.

funkyguitar
Active
Active