NEWBIE Here! Thoughts on developmental ARC

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

hinzer91

NEWBIE Here! Thoughts on developmental ARC

Post by hinzer91 » Wed Dec 30, 2020 10:33 am

Hey friends, just joined TAXI this month after a decade of procrastination :D

I have submitted cues to a couple of listings and was fortunate enough to land a forward...however...
I consistently received the feedback on the non-forwards "Could have a better developmental "arc"" and even a couple of "Too repetitive".

In an effort to grow from the constructive criticism, I thought I would reach out to you all.

I come from a rock background and suffer from 2xVerse-2xChorus-Bridge-Chorus-itis

Any suggestions on how to best structure cues?

Should I be following a structure like...A section>>B section>>C Section to avoid repeats?

Thanks in advance.

hinzer91

Re: NEWBIE Here! Thoughts on developmental ARC

Post by hinzer91 » Wed Dec 30, 2020 3:16 pm

Great thanks Tom!

Sincerely,
Danny

todddunnigan
Active
Active

Post by todddunnigan » Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:27 am

One of the best pieces of advice I ever got regarding instrumentals was to put the very best part of your instrumental right at the top. This is in line with how music supervisors sift through music when they're looking for it. There's no time for an intro or a buildup, they're clicking on stuff rapid fire so you gotta hit with the best part right away. This came from Matt Vanderbough who is a Taxi rock star, plus my forwards increased when I started doing that.

todddunnigan
Active
Active

Post by todddunnigan » Thu Dec 31, 2020 8:35 am