Submitting multiple versions/edits of the same track?

Feedback on Taxi's current listings.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

dbtruen

Submitting multiple versions/edits of the same track?

Post by dbtruen » Wed Feb 03, 2021 4:21 am

Hi everyone,

I'm a relative newbie to taxi. And 100% newbie to the forum. So Hello!

I've had moderate success with submissions so far but would love to get the submission game closer to nailed. What I'm wondering is, is it worth submitting multiple versions of the same track?

For example, the track I'm working on for submission tonight is a Lo-Fi Hip Hop instrumental so is fairly repetitive in it's nature. The track has an A and B section which goes back and forth and I think it works well like that. HOWEVER, the reference tracks stick mostly to one loop. I find that for my track it works better and has more movement with the two different, albeit similar, sections.

So... I'm wondering is it worth submitting 2 versions of my track to cover my bases - One as it is now with the 2 sections and a second edit which sticks to the A section?

Is this something anyone has had any experience with?

(and btw, apologies if I've posted in the wrong place or missed a thread covering this already)

Thanks,

Dan

superkons
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Submitting multiple versions/edits of the same track?

Post by superkons » Wed Feb 03, 2021 10:25 am

I have done that in past, as I thought different versions of the same piece could work equally well. In terms of forwards, I have had mixed results, say, 50/50
Marco - Pianist, keyboardist, composer for film/TV/games/media

https://musicalwizardry.com
https://soundcloud.com/marcoiannello

Telefunkin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by Telefunkin » Wed Feb 03, 2021 10:37 am

Hi Dan,