First Submission... Advice Welcome (# S210403HH)

We're putting YOU in the drivers seat!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

DexWilliams
Active
Active

First Submission... Advice Welcome (# S210403HH)

Post by DexWilliams » Fri Apr 02, 2021 9:37 am

Hi all,

I'm just finishing a submission for the listing mentioned in the title: # S210403HH (HARD-HITTING, MODERN HIP-HOP/ORCHESTRAL HYBRID INSTRUMENTAL CUES)

I've got to 30s so the rest will be a build/release/layer job... but wondered if anybody has some input on if I'm miles off track here because the listing says not to copy the reference in any way, but do take the tempo and style into consideration.

As a newbie I'm posting a SoundCloud link... is there a better way to do this in the TAXI forums?

https://soundcloud.com/dexwilliamsmusic ... sdAUZE1Gai

Many thanks,

Dex

KennyWayneBuffalo
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Re: First Submission... Advice Welcome (# S210403HH)

Post by KennyWayneBuffalo » Sat Apr 03, 2021 4:33 am

I have used links to Soundcloud too, because it's easier than linking to TAXI. I think the drums sounds are a bit off for hip hop. Usually there is just kick, clap(or something like that) and high hat.
Ken

DexWilliams
Active
Active

Post by DexWilliams » Sat Apr 03, 2021 8:42 am

Thanks Ken!

Good point on the drums so I've cut them back a bit to get a bit more Hip hop feel to them. I think I was hearing quite a lot going on in the reference track with FX and got distracted from the drum feel.

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by cosmicdolphin » Wed Apr 07, 2021 4:27 pm

Yeah I agree you need to start the track with a Hip Hop beat and go from there, at the moment it sounds off target.

Mark

DrDanny

Post by DrDanny » Sun Apr 11, 2021 12:09 pm

Hi Dex,