Taxi - is it worth it?

A cozy place to hang out and discuss all things music.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

mophilly

Re: Taxi - is it worth it?

Post by mophilly » Mon Apr 26, 2021 7:00 pm

SimonF wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 9:24 am
I submitted 3 tracks for a tension cues request. You can see it here:

https://youtu.be/TKSFldNVnpw
I'll bite. First, I am new to taxi; a musician for decades; have sold nothing; just another songwriter who likes to sing.

The music line is a good idea; quality is ok. To work in a trailer, I suggest more attention to building the intensity. Start small, simple lines, then add as the trailer movies through the scenes. E.g. first encounter with the suspect should have a middle weight "heavy-ness" that pushes the ethereal lines of the simple line. Toward the end of the trailer, the music should be pushing "extreme heaviosity(TM)". The idea is to drive the emotions of the viewer toward anticipation; drive the heart beat.

I hope this helps.

SimonF

Post by SimonF » Tue Apr 27, 2021 8:28 am

Thanks Mark - on the 100 tracks in 10 libraries - I'd say about half I've never seen any royalties from. Having said that I have a track with EMI - nothing for about 7 years and now it's used regularly in a Portuguese TV show. The most successful tracks are in established UK libraries (eg DeWolfe) and German libraries (eg Sonoton). The small libraries I get a bit of usage but we are literally talking cents in terms of royalties.

Simon

cosmicdolphin wrote:
Thu Apr 22, 2021 11:14 am
Good post Simon

I would say :-

1. It's only worth it if you think it's worth it - everyone's journey is unique

2. 31% Forward Rate is good so you're clearly doing something right

3. If you have 10 Publishers do you really need more ? I have 10 as well with 400 tracks signed ..I would say 3 or 4 are worth it...the rest not so much

4. Screener 309...couldn't barely ever get anything past that dude/dudette