Got "dinged" for castanets not sounding real

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

fretman
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Got "dinged" for castanets not sounding real

Post by fretman » Wed May 12, 2021 8:08 am

I recently got a few Spanish instrumentals rejected for a variety of reasons, one of which was unrealistic sounding castanets. This can either be due to bad sounds or bad playing, or both. I used castanets from IK Multimedia's Orchestral Percussion, which were the best sounding castanets I currently have. I studied up on how to play castanets here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ag6KmZ-2Ymo (all 3 parts plus "how to choose"). The "low" clicker plays on the down beats while the "high" clicker plays all the other notes. Assuming I played them realistically, then I need to find better sounds. Any ideas what else to try?

The submissions can be found here:
https://www.taxi.com/members/zuHdYfRqTI ... paul-smith
https://www.taxi.com/members/zuHdYfRqTI ... paul-smith

The other critique was the lack of an "arc". The intensity is pretty much the same throughout the pieces. I can hear that and can come up with ideas on how to make the piece more dynamic. Apparently I was too subtle as I layered on instruments. But the castanet sounds - do they sound too fake?

Thank you for suggestions on how to move forward.

Paul

AlanHall
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Got "dinged" for castanets not sounding real

Post by AlanHall » Wed May 12, 2021 9:36 am

Often very good sounds can be compromised by a less-than-ideal FX chain. Too dry/too forward/too present can all make the instrument stick out as artificial. Don't give up on the sounds you have until you have placed them realistically into the virtual ensemble you're creating.

Telefunkin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by Telefunkin » Thu May 13, 2021 12:04 am

Hi Paul, great playing on all your tracks!