Only interested in experienced composers?

Feedback on Taxi's current listings.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

fretman
Getting Busy
Getting Busy

Only interested in experienced composers?

Post by fretman » Sun Aug 01, 2021 11:29 am

I've seen quite a few listings saying:

This company has a strong preference for composers who understand music licensing companies and how typical music library deals are structured. If that's not you, they politely ask that you don't submit to this request.

I've had a few forwards but nothing signed yet, so I've been self-eliminating myself from these. However, I've been with Taxi for a few years and have pretty much kept up with Taxi TV, research materials, books, etc and feel I have a modest understanding of how licensing works. But I have no personal experience.

Now, I see a few opportunities that are in my wheelhouse and I feel I can do a good job with them. Am I doing myself a disservice by not participating? Should I go ahead and submit even though it sounds like they want someone more interested than me? What are your thoughts?

Picardster
Impressive
Impressive

Re: Only interested in experienced composers?

Post by Picardster » Sun Aug 01, 2021 11:33 am

I‘d give it a try. There are still enough hurdles on the way.
And without trying, it’s surely not going to get you forward.

What do you have to lose - a few bucks.

Just my 2 Cents ….

AlanHall
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by AlanHall » Sun Aug 01, 2021 1:06 pm

I've paid attention to the forum threads (and Taxi TV episodes!) where signing contracts is discussed, and tried to absorb the info.
Not having gotten signed yet, my take is that if I'm not afraid to sign a contract that's offered, then go for it!

Telefunkin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Post by Telefunkin » Sun Aug 01, 2021 2:21 pm

AlanHall wrote:
Sun Aug 01, 2021 1:06 pm
Not having gotten signed yet, my take is that if I'm not afraid to sign a contract that's offered, then go for it!