Is this type of buyout deal standard/fair?

A creative space for business discussions.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

shyof11

Is this type of buyout deal standard/fair?

Post by shyof11 » Wed Oct 06, 2021 10:43 am

Hello,

I'm fairly new to this world as I have signed one deal with a library and have just been offered something else (both not through taxi)but it differs from the previous deal. I have been warned against signing this type of buyout deal by an industry person unless i really need the money . The deal is basically this-----

"We offer $350/per track non-recoupable master/sync buyouts on vocal tracks, with 100% of writer’s royalties flowing to you via PRO.

(taken from contract) ---- The Publisher and/or its designates shall receive 100% of the publisher's share of the worldwide public performance royalties.

So this is basically a buyout deal where I get 100% of performance royalties and library gets 100% of publishers royalties for a non recoupable fee of $350 per vocal song.

The previous deal I signed was a 50/50 split on both sides with a recoupable upfront fee of $350 per vocal track.

Questions I have are would they keep 100% of any sync fees? Is this a common deal you would get through libraries that sign deals through taxi? Any advice would be appreciated. I can upload the entire contract if anyone is interested in seeing it.

cosmicdolphin
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Is this type of buyout deal standard/fair?

Post by cosmicdolphin » Wed Oct 06, 2021 12:52 pm

EraCollage wrote:
Wed Oct 06, 2021 10:43 am
So this is basically a buyout deal where I get 100% of performance royalties and library gets 100% of publishers royalties for a non recoupable fee of $350 per vocal song.

The previous deal I signed was a 50/50 split on both sides with a recoupable upfront fee of $350 per vocal track.