Questions about forwards ! :)

Got a forward? Wanna brag about it? Post it up.

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

JasperB

Questions about forwards ! :)

Post by JasperB » Wed Oct 20, 2021 6:20 pm

Hey friends,
Hope you all are doing well and staying healthy.
I'm new to Taxi and this is my first month exploring this avenue..
I've gotten quite a few forwards for the things i've been sending but was wondering and wanted to ask the community - from the forwards you friends got - what percentage would you say actually got placed? and whenever things do get placed , how long does it usually take an agency to hit you back regarding the opportunity?

Thank you for all your insight and hope we can all celebrate together at one point or another thanks to TAXI.

thanks in advance !

Paulie
Serious Musician
Serious Musician

Re: Questions about forwards ! :)

Post by Paulie » Fri Oct 22, 2021 5:33 pm

Howdy Jasper and welcome to the best online community for new composers on the internet! :)

Your question is asked often and it's pretty hard to nail down a solid answer due to the many variables involved. I suggest you check out the posts in the F.A.Q. section here, as well as go to YouTube and search for TaxiTV 101 videos. Michael has done several episodes over the years specifically for new members and he answers a ton of questions.

As far as what percentages of forwards end up as placements, it's probably a small number, because a forward just means that you've met Taxi's standards for quality and they have forwarded your music to their customer. Forward rates vary wildly across Taxi members, my forward rate used to be around 30%, some folks are higher, some are lower.

Another thing to ask is what percentage of forwards result in a call back from a library? That number is also a low number, for a variety of reasons. For me the call back percentage was low single digits.