What have I learnt so far?

Liked your review? Rave about it! Hated it, let us know!

Moderators: admin, mdc, TAXIstaff

Arbee

What have I learnt so far?

Post by Arbee » Tue Feb 08, 2022 1:47 am

Coming up to the end of my first 12 months with Taxi and thought I'd share some reflections of my experience so far. I'm not a prolific composer (yet) and I do try to straddle being both an independent artist and, now, a media music composer as well. That duality does comes with several challenges and learnings as I try to stretch my comfort zone. I hope over time that one can support the other and provide accelerated improvement in my composition, arrangement and production.

So far I've learnt that:
  • I get forwarded more when I'm in, or close to, my natural background and comfort zone (der!). In fact both of my first two tracks were forwarded because it was a particular listing where I thought "that's me!" and it lured me into joining Taxi.
  • I do struggle a little with "bombast" and trailer formats, and forcing edit points into the music, but I'll get there.
  • The caliber of feedback has to date been objective, clear and focused, warm, and very professional. The only exception might be where some subjectivity has crept in perhaps, but we're all human. On almost every occasion I've read the "return" notes, nodded and said "yep that's it". I'm actually about to resubmit a track for a new submission that I've reworked based on feedback, will be interesting to see how it lands.